Life Is Good

20120719-161124.jpg

Currently available on CD and iTunes but I recommend waiting until next week for the Vinyl edition!

Life Is Good is the tenth studio album by American rapper Nas. The album was released on July 17, 2012 in the United States, with earlier dates in some other countries. This is Nas’ final album under Def Jam Recordings.

The green dress which appears on the album’s cover is the wedding dress worn by Nas’ ex-wife Kelis, by whom he has a son, it was the only thing she had left in their house after their divorce. Nas has stated the album is “important” to him and has a more lighthearted feel to it, showing the transition from his old life to his new one. Nas told The Guardian: “I found [the dress] in my house and thought, ‘It’s going somewhere’. Either on the cover of my album, or burning in a garbage can. I was angry when I first found it. Hurt and angry – but I don’t think she left it deliberately to hurt me. It’s just part of the dress, so I don’t know where the rest of it is. But it made all the sense in the world for me to hold on to that. I guess that’s just my personality.” Nas has compared the album to Marvin Gaye’s classic Here, My Dear, which is famous for chronicling Gaye’s first marriage to Anna Gordy.

Leave a Reply

